• sun

    LPS Summer School 2020

    Liberty Public Schools has been hard at work the past several weeks preparing for our face-to-face summer school program that runs July 8 – 31, 2020.  As you likely know, the face-to-face school experience in LPS will not look like it did prior to the COVID-19 pandemic.  Many precautions have been put into place, following recommendations by local, state, and national health officials.  It is our top priority to provide our students and staff with a safe and healthy learning environment while at school.  Below is important information that we hope you find useful as we prepare to welcome students on July 8, 2020.

    July Face-to-Face Sites and Hours

    Times: AM 7:45 - 11:15   PM:11:45 - 3:15  All Day Session: 7:45 - 3:15

    Locations:

    Discovery Middle School(816)736-7300 (Middle Level Grades 6-8)
    Site Directors: Joseph Lutes/Email: joseph.lutes@lps53.org and Jennifer Selock/Email: jennifer.selock@lps53.org
    Parent Letter
    Warren Hills Elementary(816)736-5630 (Warren Hills and Lewis & Clark)
    Site Directors: Michelle Swierski/Email: michelle.swierski@lps53.org and Matthew Krohne/Email: matthew.krohne@lps53.org
    Parent Letter

    Liberty Oaks Elementary(816)736-5600 (Liberty Oaks and Kellybrook)
    Site Directors : Andrea Wilson/Email: andrea.wilson@lps53.org and Kayli Burrell/Email: kayli.burrell@lps53.org
    Parent Letter


    Times: AM 8:15 - 11:45   PM: 12:15 - 3:45  All Day Session: 8:15 - 3:45

    Locations:

    Manor Hill Elementary(816)736-5460 (Manor Hill and Ridgeview)
    Site Directors: Chavis Clawson/Email: chavis.clawson@lps53.org and Tiffany Cunningham/Email:tiffany.cunningham@lps53.org
    Parent Letter
    Liberty Middle School (816)736-5410 (Lillian Schumacher, Alexander Doniphan and Franklin)
    Site Directors: Andy Wright/Email: andy.wright@lps53.org and Emily Hoffman/Email: emily.hoffman@lps53.org
    Parent Letter

    Shoal Creek Elementary(816)736-7150(Shoal Creek)
    Site Directors: Christy Boman/Email: christy.boman@lps53.org and Jamie Ackart/Email: jamie.ackart@lps53.orgParent
    Parent Letter


    Enrollment for LPS Summer School 2020 is closed at this time. We thank you for your patience as we modified our summer school plans. 

     

    LPS SUMMER SCHOOL PLAN (JULY ATTENDEES)

    LPS JULY SUMMER 2020 BROCHURE

     

    Front page

    page 2

    Page 3

    page 4

      

     

     

     

    Questions:

    Lisa Johnston, Administrative Assistant 816.736.6730

    Christopher Hand, Director of Assessment, Evaluation and Testing 816.736.5320

    We hope you have found the information provided above to be helpful.  Our Department of Health Services has been working closely with Clay County Health Center and other local health officials throughout this unprecedented event, and will be sharing additional information and resources with you prior to us getting started on Wednesday, July 8th.  As the district has shared since just prior to spring break back in March, this continues to be an extremely fluid situation and one that has potential to change.  We will provide you with any important updates as they become available. Thank you for sharing your child with us, and we look forward to seeing them at school soon!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  •  

    Camp Invention

    Summer Opportunities

    Camp Invention 2020!
    Camp Invention is a high-energy, hands-on STEM camp.  Your child will love what's in store for this year!

    CREATE - Become a confident entrepreneur as you sketch, protoype, protect and pitch the next great invention!
    COLLABORATE - Team up to play hybrid hover ball games, trade inventor playing cards and design the ultimate sports complex.
    PROBLEM SOLVE - Tackle environmental challenges while you compete in zipline races and build parachutes to airdrop animals!

    Click here to register!

    Price: $235
    Location: Liberty Oaks Elementary School
    8150 North Farley
    Kansas City, MO 64158

    Program Dates:   8/3/2020 - 8/7/2020
    Program Length: 5 Days
    Program Times: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM  *Need longer hours?  See our Exciting news for this location.

    *Exciting news for this location: We are offering an Extended Day experience, making our program schedule more convenient for busy families.  With Extended Day, your program will run from 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM with an additional cost of $80.00 per week.  To sign up for this program schedule, please select the Extended Day option during the second step of registration. 

    Directed by Matthew Krohne
    (816)736-5634

     

     

  • Summer School Incentive Program

    Summer School Bookstore:
    Students who participate and engage in classroom activities will have their name included in a daily book drawing to come and choose a book from the Summer School Bookstore.

    Perfect Attendance Incentive:
    Students who have perfect attendance the entire program will be eligible for a drawing on the last day. Each building will be giving away one Kindle Fire 7 and one Wireless Stereo Earbud.  

    Summer School Discipline Policy 
    Summer School will be a fun-filled and challenging learning experience for students.  To ensure that all students are safe and able to learn, the same behavior appropriate during the regular school year will be expected.  Students are expected to treat all staff and students at school with respect, as well as respect the property of others, while demonstrating safe and appropriate behavior in and about the school.  To assist students in developing desirable behavior habits, educators will provide an environment that is safe, positive, and challenging.  Students feel safe and learning improves when they have clear, logical, and consistent boundaries.  Teachers and administrators work as a team to provide the needed structure and support to help each student learn to take responsibility for their actions.  Parents/Guardians will be kept informed on any concerns and will be asked to partner with the school in helping their children learn to make good choices.  The Summer School Program will not utilize detentions or in-school suspension because of limited summer staff.  Because of this during an instance where a detention or in-school suspension would be an appropriate consequence the student may be sent home or asked not to attend part, or the remainder of the Summer School program.

    Bulletin:  The Missouri General Assembly may adjust funding for summer school at any time.  As a result, the Liberty Summer School program may be adjusted or modified based on state funding.