Return to Headlines

LPS Well Represented at Excellence in Education Banquet

It was a big night for Liberty Public Schools at the 33rd Annual Excellence in Education Banquet, presented by the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce, and held at the KCI Expo Center on Tuesday evening, April, 23, 2019.

The evening was highlighed by the naming of EPiC Elementary 5th Grade Teacher Deb Caywood as the 2019 Christa McAuliffe Excellence in Teaching recipient.  Caywood becomes the first LPS teacher to receive this award since Beth Oyler in 2004.

Three other Liberty Public Schools classroom teachers received Excellence in Teaching awards.  They included:  Katie Fisher (Franklin Elementary), Traci Pierson (Lewis and Clark Elementary), and Annette Tracy (Manor Hill Elementary).  In addition, both Brandi Hamilton (Alexander Doniphan Elementary) and McKenzie Veselik (Liberty Oaks Elementary) were selected as Excellence in Service to Education recipients.

Earlier in the evening, LPS nominees for Business in Support of Education, Liberty Climate Control Heating and Cooling, along with Volunteer in Support of Education, Frank Dixon, were honored.

LPS also had several students selected as scholarship winners, including:  Riley Sutherland (Liberty North HS), Ellie Magera (Liberty North HS), and Jackson Yahne (Liberty HS).

Liberty Public Schools would like to thank the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce for hosting this event.