Return to Headlines

Kisker is PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year

Local Teacher Receives Highest Honor from National Organization

Brett Kisker of Liberty North High School in Liberty Public Schools named PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year

INDIANPOLIS (Feb. 18, 2019) – Brett Kisker of Liberty North High School in Liberty Public Schools was recently recognized by Project Lead The Way (PLTW) as the PLTW Engineering Teacher of the Year, which is the highest recognition for PLTW educators. PLTW President and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Vince Bertram presented the award in front of nearly 1,000 attendees, including teachers from across the United States at PLTW’s national conference in Indianapolis – PLTW Summit.

 "We are so excited for this recognition bestowed on Mr. Kisker," said LPS Superintendent Dr. Jeremy Tucker.  "His passion and energy for teaching and PLTW is evident every day.  They could not have chosen a better person for this award."

The award is based on merit and is a reflection of Kisker’s strong alignment to PLTW’s mission; exceptional commitment to students; school leadership; and meaningful involvement in PLTW curriculum, assessment, and professional development.

In addition to Kisker’s award, PLTW recognized four other instructors as PLTW program teachers of the year for their outstanding commitment to empowering students to thrive in our evolving world and the Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW Teacher of the Year:

  • PLTW Launch Teacher of the Year – Joseline Nacua, Jefferson Elementary School, Compton Unified School District, Compton, California
  • PLTW Gateway Teacher of the Year– Kristie Steinlicht, Anacapa Middle School, Ventura Unified School District, Ventura, California
  • PLTW Biomedical Science Teacher of the Year– Jeanine Hall, Hendrick Hudson High School, Hendrick Hudson School District, Montrose, New York
  • PLTW Computer Science Teacher of the Year – Susan Jones, Midway High School, Midway Independent School District, Woodway, Texas
  • Robert and Patricia Kern PLTW Teacher of the Year – Devin McKinnon, New Berlin Eisenhower Middle/High School, New Berlin School District, New Berlin, Wisconsin

PLTW also recognized Eryca Card, PLTW 4K-8 Coordinator Elkhorn Area School District in Elkhorn, Wisconsin, as PLTW Educational Leader of the Year. She is also a Board Member for the Wisconsin Association of School Boards.

“PLTW is proud to work with outstanding educators across the country who are inspiring and empowering our students to develop in-demand knowledge and skills,” Bertram said. “Brett Kisker is an exemplary teacher, and we are proud to recognize him for his commitment to students.”

PLTW Summit, sponsored by Chevron, is the premier gathering for individuals dedicated to preparing students with the in-demand and transportable skills they need to succeed in college and careers. Guests will include PreK-12 educators, students, university leaders, and business and industry leaders.

Project Lead The Way (PLTW) is a nonprofit organization that provides a transformative learning experience for PreK-12 students and teachers across the U.S. PLTW empowers students to develop in-demand, transportable knowledge and skills through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science. PLTW’s teacher training and resources support teachers as they engage their students in real-world learning. Approximately 11,500 elementary, middle, and high schools in all 50 states and the District of Columbia offer PLTW programs. For more information on Project Lead The Way, visit