Return to Headlines

Members of LPS Community Honored at Excellence in Education Banquet

Several members of the Liberty Public Schools community were honored at the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce's annual Excellence in Education banquet on Tuesday night, April 25, 2023.

The annual event recognizes teachers, support staff, volunteers and business partners that make excellent education possible in districts across the Kansas City Northland. 

Conrad's Restaurant was honored as LPS's Business in Support of Education for 2023. Owners Shawn and Tina Barber were in attendance to accept the honor. 

Jody Magera was honored as LPS's Volunteer in Support of Education for 2023. Magera devotes countless hours to the Liberty Education Foundation and other organizations within the District. She is also an LPS parent. 

LPS was able to nominate teachers for the Excellence in Classroom Teaching category, and support staff for Excellence in Service to Education. Nominations included letters from administrators, coworkers and LPS parents that were reviewed by a judging panel. Out of 22 total nominees from Liberty, five were chosen to receive awards. 

Liberty High School Assistant Principal David McDorman and Lewis and Clark Elementary custodian Dwayne Irvin Sr. were both honored with Excellence in Service to Education awards.

Other nominees in the category from LPS who were in attendance at the banquet included Rebecca Fisher (District Administration Center), Brooklyn Bauerle (Early Childhood Center), Ben Orth (Heritage Middle School), Gail Stark (Liberty North High School), Sandy Meinders (Lillian Schumacher Elementary), Rachel Naumann (Nutrition Services), Jody Hamlin (Ridgeview Elementary), Renee Martin (Transportation), Meghan Lampert (various) and Ashley Pouna (various).

Teachers Beth Todtfeld (Alexander Doniphan Elementary), Kate Roark (Kellybrook Elementary) and Crystal Byrd (Liberty High School) were all chosen as recipients of Excellence in Classroom Teaching awards. 

Other nominees in the category from LPS who were in attendance at the banquet included Dr. Carrie Gabriel (Discovery Middle School), Becky Gacke (Early Childhood Center), Jennifer Banjamin (Heritage Middle School), Melanie Young (Lewis and Clark Elementary), Grant Brown (Liberty Middle School), Dan Luellen (Liberty North High School), Kristine Schemmel (Lillian Schumacher Elementary), Kameron Sheek (Ridgeview Elementary) and Robin Lewis (South Valley Middle School).

Congratulations to all of the LPS nominees and award recipients!